Food Safety and RSA Training

1300 665633 +61 3 59669977

    Student Login

Want to stay up to date with food safety news? Like us on Google & Facebook.

  • We have found the online program very easy to use and very comprehensive and it has fitted perfectly with the food safety requirements of our business.

    John - Manager

  • I think the course is really good because you can log back out and save your spot within the module. The modules seemed very precise to the point with images that associated to the particular topic which made learning interesting.

    Krystle - Training Manager

  • I always find CFT staff very helpful and efficient when we need anything, nothing is too much trouble.

    Ben - Company Director

Alternative ingredients to use instead of common allergenic foods

22/02/2016 - 1:38 pm

Alternative ingredients to use instead of common allergenic foods


Tree Nuts

These include almonds, walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, Brazil nuts, cashews, pistachios, pine nuts, macadamia nuts, chestnuts. Can be found in sauces, desserts, crackers, bread, ice cream, marzipan, ground almonds, nut oil.

TIP: See Peanuts



In sauces, cakes, desserts, groundnut oil, peanut flour, peanut butter

TIP: Make sure you have an indemnity on your menu if you use nuts in your kitchen.


Cow’s Milk

In yoghurt, cream, cheese, butter, milk powders, foods glazed with milk

TIP: If a recipe allows substitute milk with water, soy milk or in sweet recipes with fruit juice (guests allergic to milk may also be allergic to soy). 


Crustacean or Shellfish

Such as shrimp, prawns, crab, lobster, crayfish, shrimp paste

TIP: When required, replace shellfish with  a smoked fish that has a strong flavour. 



As tofu or beancurd, soya flour and textured soya protein, in some ice cream, sauces, desserts, meat products, vegetarian products

TIP: Use rice flour and canola oil for baked goods. 



In cakes, mousses, sauces, pasta, quiche, some meat products, mayonnaise, foods brushed with egg

TIP: Substitutes vary by dish  For baking try with mashed banana. For savoury dishes crumbled Tofu works quite well.



In some salad dressings, pizzas, relishes, fish sauce and some soy and Worcestershire sauces

TIP: Use mayonnaise as a base for dressings and use your own ingredients to create flavours. 



Foods containing flour, such as bread, pasta, cakes, pastry, meat products, sauces, soups, batter, stock cubes, breadcrumbs, foods dusted with flour

TIP: Those with a wheat allergy can usually eat rice flour, buckwheat flour, cornflour and maize flour. 


What is Lactose Intolerance?

Lactose intolerance occurs in individuals who lack the enzyme lactase, which is needed to digest the sugar lactose (found in milk). Common symptoms are diarrhea, wind and  general discomfort.

Can eat…
Soy milk, rice milk, dairy free cheeses such as soy cheese, soy yoghurt (note: soy is also an allergen)

Can’t eat…
Cow’s, Sheep, Goat’s (mammals) milk, some cheeses, dairy desserts, ice cream, butter, cheese, yoghurt

What is Gluten intolerance?

Gluten intolerance is caused by the body’s inability to break down gluten, a protein in wheat. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease. Those with Celiac disease must eliminate gluten from their diet.

Can eat…
Rice flour, buckwheat, cornflour, maize flour, flours from nuts/beans/seeds chickpeas, quinoa, and soya

Can’t eat…
Gluten-containing flours, including: Wheat, Barley Rye, Oat, Malt, Couscous



Back to articles

Newsletter Signup

If you would like to keep up to date with the latest CFT news and training options please sign up to our newsletter subscription

Sign-up here